h1

TWD – Summer Fruit Galette

July 29, 2008

For this week Michelle from Michelle in Colorado Springs selected Summer Fruit Galette on pages 366 – 367

This recipe, like so many of Dorie’s recipes for the masses, was super easy.  And I mean that in a good way.  While I do love a good challenge every once and a while that takes my whole day (or several) to reach tasty goodness, a nice simple recipe is lovely for day to day.

You start out with Dorie’s Good For Almost Everything pie crust.  Just need a food processor.  Don’t have to drag out the mixer.  I say drag because my oh-so-light KitchenAid is stored in the basement due to lack of counter space, so when I can grab an in-the-kitchen appliance it’s like Christmas, but I digress…

The crust came together beautifully (as always) so it was onto the custard.  Now custard here seems to be a loose interpretation.  In my mind (which is a frightening place) custard is very thick and very high in eggs.  This one, however, was looser, i guess is the best word, and contains only 1 egg… but hey, what do I know.  Maybe a custard is defined by the ingredients, not the quantity of ingredients.  Don’t care, damn tasty anyway.

For the fruit topping, Dorie’s suggested apricots, nectarines, peaches, plums or rhubarb, but… I’m a tad bit picky about cooked fruit.  On a whole I find it repugnant.  The only exceptions to this are berries.  And not all berries.  Cherries? Gross.  But blackberries, raspberries and blueberries? Delish!  On their own or any mixture of the three and I’m there.

I did my assembly a little differently than the directions say.  You’re supposed to put the fruit down then add the custard once it has cooked for a bit.  Well, from reading other peoples’ comments on the TWD blog, several people had overflow issues, so I opted to put my custard down, then my fruit.  It still came out very well!  If I make it again, I think I’ll try the confectioner’s cream I used with my DB Danish Bread and see how that works!

Pics will be on in the morning as I’m for bed as it’s almost midnight!

Happy baking!

2 comments

  1. Glad you liked it!


  2. Sounds tasty!



Leave a Reply

