h1

TWD – Mixed Berry Cobbler

June 24, 2008

cobbler close up

This week are being led by Beth of Our Sweet Life and she has chosen Mixed Berry Cobbler on pages 416-417.

Now I *love* a mixed berry… well anything really. I’ve made pies, filled bread, jams. But, oddly, never a cobbler. I don’t think I’ve ever even eaten a cobbler. My family is pie people. And mostly of the pudding-ish variety. So I was very excited to try this week’s recipe!

First I made my dough, and boy, was it sticky! Stuck to the bowl. Stuck to the scraper. Stuck to the waxed paper. Sticky, sticky.

Next, I mixed together my berries. 2 pints of blueberries and one each of raspberries and blackberries. They looked so pretty all covered in sugar, I hated to cover them up.

sugared berries

But, of course, it wouldn’t be a cobbler with out a crust! (I guess it would just be… jam?) So, cover it, I did.

pre-baking cobbler

Boy! You want rustic, there you go! Seems the only thing this dough won’t stick to is sugar coated berries! I think i recovered the same blackberry 6 times.

My little darling is percolating in the oven right now! I’ll post pics of the finished product as soon as it comes out!

*UPDATE*

Well, the cobbler is out and is a lovely golden brown. And looks just so… comforting.

Baked cobbler

I couldn’t wait to dish out some for myself. Wanted it while it was still hot so it would make the ice cream all melty…

dished cobbler

Mmm… makes me want to lick the screen!

9 comments

  1. Gorgeous! Cobbler and ice cream just go so well together!


  2. That looks wonderful! And rustic is a good thing when it comes to cobblers, right?


  3. That looks so rustic (in a great way!) and tasty!


  4. It looks SO DELICIOUS!! Especially with all of that melty ice cream.


  5. Looks yummy and golden brown. mmmmm.


  6. Wow that looks SO yummy- way to go!


  7. Rustic and yummy!


  8. Wanting to lick the screen indeed. Great job!


  9. Yum, yum, yum! Good work!



Leave a Reply

