h1

Homegrown Gourmet #8 – Round Up!

May 30, 2008

Well, seems like Peanut Butter was quite a challenge to give! Only 4 brave souls took up the gauntlet and made peanut butter their own..

Peanut Butter Hug

Peanut Butter Ice Cream with Reese\'s Peanut Butter Cups

The lovely Tempered Woman made this delectable treat: Peanut Butter Ice Cream with Reese’s Peanut Butter Cups in Chocolate Bowls. For a peanut butter hound, this sounds like heaven. Peanut butter ice cream WITH Reese’s cups? Come on. That just screams tasty.

Peanut Butter Gobs

Joy Through Cooking sent in these little gems, or rather Gobs, Peanut Butter Gobs to be exact.

Pizzookie

Then over at Katorade she concocted something called a “Pizzookie”! It is the dessert from a pizza chain that started in her area (hince the Pizz part 😉 )

Fluffernutter Cake

And last, but not least, Realistic Eats channeled Elvis himself and created a Fluffer Nutter cake the King would have kissed her for.

So, who is the winner you ask?

.

.

.

.

Who gets the honor (terror) of picking next month’s ingredient?

.

.

.

.

Who seemed the most HomeGrown-y to me??

.

.

.

.

I have to admit I was torn between 2… the ice cream or the gobs

.

.

.

.

Both were luscious and full of peanut buttery goodness

.

.

.

.

But in the end

.

.

.

.

I had to go with…

.

.

.

.

Peanut Butter Gobs

PEANUT BUTTER GOBS!!

That’s right! From the moment I first clicked on the link for Joy Through Cooking‘s post I was lost. The fluffy cookies… The mound of peanut buttery goodness swirled in the middle… Throw in that this treat (at least by this name) is only available in her hubby’s hometown, and you had me. So congratulations, Meghan and have fun hosting next month!

5 comments

  1. Hey girl~ where is your own contribution to the Peanut Butter madness?? Hmmm????
    I’m going to comfort myself with the thought that you just didn’t pick me cause it would have looked like premeditated sychophant. What with me choosing you and all. uh huh. That’s what I’m gonna tell myself. 😉


  2. They all looked delicious! Thanks for hosting! If I hadn’t been on vacation for 10 days and if Maine had any PB recipes I could think of, I would have joined the crew… next time I guess! Thanks again for keeping HGG going!


  3. Yahooooo! Thank you for this great honor 🙂

    I am finally back from vegas (work) and am going through over 700 recipes in my blog reader… THEN time to catch up on my blogging (DB etc) and I am toying with a few ideas for this. Ill decide and post in the next day or two (in case anyone else stalks to hear the new challenge like I do… 😉 )

    Woot! thanks! And nicely done all 🙂


  4. Dang. I really wanted to participate in this one… I LOVE peanut butter. Unfortunately, that whole moving thing got in the way. 😦

    These are four great entries… YUM!


  5. Those peanut butter gobs look so delicious! A must try, thank you!!!



Leave a Reply

