h1

Cheesecake Pops – April Daring Bakers Challenge

April 26, 2008

Pops Pic

Ok. Cheesecake pops. Sounded a little sketchy to me at the beginning. I’m used to “French-style” (not that, I’m sure, it’s even remotely French) cheesecake which is rather soft. I couldn’t quite grasp how in the $%^# it was going to stay on a stick… But the freezer did help, heh. It took me a while to make these. Not because it was difficult, mind you. The cheesecake did just what it was supposed to and assembly went fine. It took a while, because, in a word, I’m lazy. I made the cheesecake on Saturday. Was gonna make the pops on Sunday. Didn’t happen. Ordered Chinese and watched a movie instead. Monday? nope. Tuesday? nope. Finally, on Wednesday I decided I’d rather have cheesecake pops than the cheesecake jerky I was going to end up with if I kept letting it dry out in the fridge. So rolling I went. Messy business. Decided to get a bowl of water and wet my hands before I shaped the pops. Massive improvement and end product had a much smoother look as a result. Now you ask yourself, did I freeze them for just an hour and then coat them? Hell no. A-#1 procrastinator here. That day? nope. Friday? nope. Saturday? yup, but only because we’re supposed to post on Sunday. If not, who knows when my lazy behind would have bothered.

Now, the coatings I am proud of. I have to say, I am not a cheesecake purist. Hubby is, but not me. Straight cheesecake is ok, but I prefer some chocolate or nuts or fruit involved. So, naturally, had to do lots to my pops. Made 4 different kinds.

Skyview Pop-tini

1) Chocolate Strawberry – dipped in liquified strawberry jam then dipped in bittersweet chocolate

Chocolate Strawberry Pop

2) Double Chocolate – dipped in bittersweet chocolate then rolled in mini chocolate chips

Double Chocolate Pop

3) S’mores – dipped in melted marshmallow fluff, rolled in graham cracker crumbs, then dipped in semi-sweet chocolate

S\'mores Pop

And my personal favorite, cuz everything is better with peanut butter…

4) Peanut Butter and Chocolate – dipped in warmed peanut butter, dipped in bittersweet chocolate, then rolled in a mixture of chopped peanuts and pecans.

Peanut Butter and Chocolate Pop

I must say, though, my pops are waaaay bigger than they are probably supposed to be. Golf ball size, I would say, at the smallest. The first couple were pop-size, but the super stickiness of my mildly dehydrated cheesecake was irritating so they slowly started to grow until the final pops were close to racketball size or just cut wedges of cheesecake. Supposed to be 30-40 pops. How many did I make? About…20. Was not feeling this challenge.

Had lots of fun dipping the pops though. Gave me some creativity outlet. And then, of course, there was the eating of the left over dipping supplies… spoons full of peanut butter, marshmallow and mini chips? Scrumptious. Yeah, and sooo on the diet.

I’m very proud of the end result. The pops were darn tasty and came out super cute, imho. Thanks to Elle & Deborah for the super challenge from Sticky, Chewy, Messy, Gooey by Jill O’Connor!

Check out the other fab DBers!

Pop-tini

Make your own! Just try not to be as lazy as me!

Cheesecake Pops

Makes 30 – 40 Pops

5 8-oz. packages cream cheese at room temperature

2 cups sugar

¼ cup all-purpose flour

¼ teaspoon salt

5 large eggs

2 egg yolks

2 teaspoons pure vanilla extract

¼ cup heavy cream

Boiling water as needed

Thirty to forty 8-inch lollipop sticks

1 pound chocolate, finely chopped – you can use all one kind or half and half of dark, milk, or white (Alternately, you can use 1 pound of flavored coatings, also known as summer coating, confectionary coating or wafer chocolate – candy supply stores carry colors, as well as the three kinds of chocolate.)

2 tablespoons vegetable shortening

(Note: White chocolate is harder to use this way, but not impossible)

Assorted decorations such as chopped nuts, colored jimmies, crushed peppermints, mini chocolate chips, sanding sugars, dragees) – Optional

Position oven rack in the middle of the oven and preheat to 325 degrees F. Set some water to boil.

In a large bowl, beat together the cream cheese, sugar, flour, and salt until smooth. If using a mixer, mix on low speed. Add the whole eggs and the egg yolks, one at a time, beating well (but still at low speed) after each addition. Beat in the vanilla and cream.

Grease a 10-inch cake pan (not a springform pan), and pour the batter into the cake pan. Place the pan in a larger roasting pan. Fill the roasting pan with the boiling water until it reaches halfway up the sides of the cake pan. Bake until the cheesecake is firm and slightly golden on top, 35 to 45 minutes.

Remove the cheesecake from the water bath and cool to room temperature. Cover the cheesecake with plastic wrap and refrigerate until very cold, at least 3 hours or up to overnight.

When the cheesecake is cold and very firm, scoop the cheesecake into 2-ounce balls and place on a parchment paper-lined baking sheet. Carefully insert a lollipop stick into each cheesecake ball. Freeze the cheesecake pops, uncovered, until very hard, at least 1 – 2 hours.

When the cheesecake pops are frozen and ready for dipping, prepare the chocolate. In the top of a double boiler, set over simmering water, or in a heatproof bowl set over a pot of simmering water, heat half the chocolate and half the shortening, stirring often, until chocolate is melted and chocolate and shortening are combined. Stir until completely smooth. Do not heat the chocolate too much or your chocolate will lose its shine after it has dried. Save the rest of the chocolate and shortening for later dipping, or use another type of chocolate for variety.

Alternately, you can microwave the same amount of chocolate coating pieces on high at 30 second intervals, stirring until smooth.

Quickly dip a frozen cheesecake pop in the melted chocolate, swirling quickly to coat it completely. Shake off any excess into the melted chocolate. If you like, you can now roll the pops quickly in optional decorations. You can also drizzle them with a contrasting color of melted chocolate (dark chocolate drizzled over milk chocolate or white chocolate over dark chocolate, etc.) Place the pop on a clean parchment paper-lined baking sheet to set. Repeat with remaining pops, melting more chocolate and shortening (or confectionary chocolate pieces) as needed.

Refrigerate the pops for up to 24 hours, until ready to serve.

P.S. I didn’t post on the 26th (that would be early) the time stamp on my blog is all woogie and it doesn’t matter how many times I fix it it always goes back…

21 comments

  1. You might be a proscranitor but you have a priceless patience! All the flavors sound wonderful (especially the peanut butter). Great job!


  2. I’m allergic to peanuts, and I would be tempted to test my allergy for one of those peanut butter ones – must’ve been great!

    I dipped mine if fruit as well; did you dip yours directly in chocolate after?

    Looks great – congrats on a successful challenge!


  3. Well you got there in the end. And you did great. I’d love to try one of your strawberry and chocolate pops.


  4. I love how you did your toppings! Great job!


  5. I love the sound of the smores one – marshmallow fluff? I’m in!! Great job on this challenge!


  6. LT – thanks! the peanut butter one was beyond description and sooo all gone.

    kimberleyblue – i stuck them back in the freezer for a bit after the first layer so it wouldn’t slide off when I dipped it in the chocolate. Worked really well!

    KJ – it was very yummy! hubby liked that one best!

    HoneyB – Thanks!

    Deborah – the s’mores ones were the fluffiest. Big wads of goodness!


  7. And after all my whining in this post, I’m actually going to make them again in a couple weeks for my brother-in-law’s couples shower. Little monogrammed pops… can’t wait!


  8. Wow, great decoration ideas! I love the strawberry chocolate one!


  9. Me too on the procrastination–but your toppings were all ambitious and they really looked yummy!


  10. Great job! Seeing yours makes me hungry for more…. Although the martini glass reminds me of another temptation (Godiva Maritinis!). I love what you did, thank you for sharing.

    xoxox Amy


  11. Super cute and Yummy! You did a great job. I think there are just a few of us that really have the procrastination down. I keep thinking I have all month right until the last weekend and then wonder what the heck?! Your pictures really make your cheesecake pops look like I could reach out and take a bite. Beautiful =D


  12. Great job! Love them!


  13. I can’t get past “cheesecake jerky”.


  14. Beautiful & so much variety…LOVE IT!! Am glad you made ’em pops & didnt end up with jerky!!! This was one GREAT challenge…YUM!! Am keen to check out the key lime extract that you made KBK; is it blogged about? Cheers


  15. Yeah, Deeba, blogged about it here: https://kbkbakery.wordpress.com/2008/03/22/marshmallow-mermaid-cupcakes/


  16. You did a wonderful job on your pops! I love all the different varieties.

    Natalie @ Gluten a Go Go


  17. Love how your pops turned out. I’d like one with strawberry jam please…..


  18. Now that’s my kind of cocktail! Love the variety in toppings. I’m no cheesecake purist either.
    And at least you made them~ there was no way I was making these with hubby out of town and no events to share them with. I’ve made them before and can honestly attest to the fact that I would have eaten them all by myself. not good


  19. I love the idea of the strawberry – I want to merge the Smores and strawberry pops into one flavor!


  20. great job! love all the variations.

    i agree, mine were way bigger thang golf ball size – and i weighed mine!


  21. Wow… four yummy dipping combinations. I’d be hard-pressed to pick just one. Great job!



Leave a Reply

