h1

Marshmallow Mermaid Cupcakes

March 22, 2008

Marshmallow Mermaid Cupcakes

Marshmallow Mermaid Cupcakes

This cupcake creation was inspired by the movie Waitress. I love pies and was so terribly disappointed that they did not include recipes on the DVD for that movie! They have such wonderful sounding pies! Just a little section under “Special features”. Would that be so hard?!? But I digress. I don’t know much about making pies, but cakes? That’s another story!

I’m a sucker for lime. You offer me lime-flavored anything and I’m there. And for me, when I think of limes, I think of Key limes. And when I think of Key limes I think of Florida and the ocean, so it was a natural progression for me to use key lime for my Marshmallow Mermaid cupcakes! For this cupcake, I’m combining Key Lime Blondies, marshmallow frosting, mini multi-colored marshmallows and edible glitter.

This is a new creation for me! I’ve never made any of the components before! Boldly into the fire I went! The first hurdle I ran into is the unavailability of key lime extract in my neck of the woods. But I persevered! I found a lovely recipe on Recipezaar for Key Lime Extract. The straining process was rather long, but the end result was worth it.

Key Lime Extract Shot

It came out such a gorgeous green!

My next challenge was the Blondie base. Blondies/Brownies don’t rise as much as cake batter, so I had to decide how much batter to put in each cut to achieve “cupcake” height… I experimented with different levels (some were very sad little cupcakes. I had to put them out of their misery *yum*). I found ¾ of the way full was the way to go. The Blondie batter makes for a very flat cupcake. If I were topping these with just regular icing, it would have been disappointing, but since I’m covering it with mini mallows, it makes for a lovely, flat decorating surface. I decorated some with whole mallows and others I cut the mallows into 4 pieces. Which one do you like better?

big and little mallows

All in all I think this cupcake was a great success and a great learning experience. I always prefer to make things I’ve never made before. Keeps my kitchen interesting! Plus, if I actually ever get to open my bakery *sighs dreamily* I’ll have lots of inventions stored up!

Marshmallow Mermaid Cupcakes

Key Lime Coconut Blondies

1 c. all purpose flour
1 c. cake flour
1 tsp baking powder
1/2 tsp salt
1/4 tsp baking soda
2 c. (packed) golden brown sugar
3/4 c. (1 1/2 sticks) unsalted butter, room temperature
2 large eggs
3 tbs. key lime juice
3/4 c. shredded sweetened coconut

Preheat oven to 350°F. Line a few muffin pans with aluminum foil liners. Butter and flour foil. Whisk 2 cups flour, baking powder, salt, and baking soda in medium bowl to blend. Using an electric mixer beat the brown sugar and the butter, in large bowl, until light and fluffy. Beat in eggs 1 at a time, then key lime juice. Add flour mixture and beat just until blended. Stir in shredded coconut. Fill each baking cup ¾ full.
Bake dessert until top is golden and tester inserted into center comes out clean, about 50 minutes. Cool completely in pan on rack.

Makes 24 cupcakes. For the traditional Blondie, bake in a 9×9 pan, lined with foil that has been buttered and floured, and it will yield 16 Blondies.

Marshmallow Frosting

1 lb. unsalted butter (at room temperature)

2 c. confectioners’ sugar

1/2 tsp pure vanilla extract (optional) *I used key lime extract

1 (16 ounce) tub marshmallow cream (such as Marshmallow Fluff brand)

In a large mixing bowl, beat the butter until creamy.

Beat in one-fourth of the sugar until fluffy, and then repeat with the remaining sugar.

Beat in the vanilla, and then stir in the marshmallow cream until well blended.

Yield: 24 servings

Additional Supplies: mini multi-colored marshmallows and edible glitter in a green/aqua/turquoise color (whatever floats your boat.)

Top cooled cupcakes with marshmallow frosting, mini marshmallows (cut into 4ths or whole) and edible glitter. Enjoy! …makes me want to go on vacation somewhere sunny and warm.

 

2 comments

  1. Alright- I see these wonderful cupcakes, where’s the pic and please tell me you are going to enter these into Cupcake Hero! I love lime and the Mermaid idea is just too darn creative!


  2. Workin’ on it, workin’ on it. Have the pics all taken.. . just haven’t gotten them from the camera to the blog yet, heh.



Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

